Ottobock is the global market leader in mobility solutions with a strong track record of “world’s first” innovations over the last century.

Founded in 1919 by Otto Bock, the Company has been a synonym for revolutionizing, and innovating medical mobility technology as reflected in many “world’s first” products, for example the first completely microprocessor-controlled lower limb prosthesis or the first thought-controlled prosthesis. Today, Ottobock offers a highly diversified, comprehensive product portfolio ranging from high-tech prosthetic and (neuro-) orthotic products to wheelchairs and consumer items as well as accompanying services.

Ottobock is headquartered in Duderstadt, Germany and operates subsidiaries in more than 50 countries with more than 7,000 employees worldwide. In 2016, the Company generated more than EUR 880 million in sales.

Over nearly a century, Ottobock’s products have allowed users to achieve a better quality of life, more mobility and independence.

To Ottobock

Market trends and drivers

Ottobock’s end markets for medical mobility solutions are very attractive and characterized by stable growth of 3-5% with selected niches like the highly innovative neuro-orthotics expanding at higher rates, limited cyclicality and high entry barriers. Specifically in prosthetics, Ottobock enjoys a market leading position with a strong standing in high-growth emerging markets.

Investment potential

EQT as true strategic partner to the majority shareholder of Ottobock, Prof. Näder, will focus on supporting the Company’s growth trajectory by continued investments in highly innovative products, applying EQT’s Value Creation Toolbox to drive operational excellence, participating in industry consolidation and pursuing digitization of the orthotic and prosthetic value chain. 

Societal contribution

The icons illustrate the portfolio companies' positive societal contributions based on their solutions i.e. how their products and/or services solve key challenges expressed as the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

Board of Directors

Dr. Bernd Bohr Chairperson
Marcus Brennecke Board member
Stefan F. Heidenreich Board member
Johannes Reichel Board member
Prof. Dr. Gesche Joost Board member
Prof. Dr. Michael Kaschke Board member
Jurate Keblyte Board member
Dr. Joachim Kreuzburg Board member
Prof. Hans Georg Näder Board member
Georgia Näder Board member
Christoph Seibt Board member


Prof. Hans Georg Näder President
Philipp Schulte-Noelle CEO
Jörg Wahlers CFO